Thierry Vanlancker joins Stahl Board

May 06, 2024

Waalwijk, the Netherlands, 6 May 2024 – Stahl, the leading provider of speciality coatings and treatments for flexible substrates, has appointed former AkzoNobel CEO Thierry Vanlancker as a Non-Executive Director to its Board. 

As a Non-Executive Board Director, Mr Vanlancker will provide valuable oversight, advice and strategic guidance to Stahl’s leadership, supporting the company’s position as leader in speciality coatings and treatments for flexible substrates.  

From 2017 to 2022 Mr Vanlancker served as CEO and Chairman of the Management Board of AkzoNobel NV. Prior to his tenure at Akzo he held several senior positions in Europe and the US at Dupont. 

Mr Vanlancker also serves as Chairman of the Board at Sika and as Non Executive Board Director at Aliaxis and Etex. He brings over 30 years of experience in the  speciality coatings and chemicals industries and holds a Master's degree in chemical engineering from Ghent University.  

Maarten Heijbroek, Stahl CEO, says: "We look forward to working with Thierry and harness his extensive experience in the coatings industry to support Stahl’s own transformation into a specialty coatings company and realise Stahl’s ambitious ESG targets."

Thierry Vanlancker says: "I'm delighted to be joining Stahl at this exciting point in its history. I have gotten to know Stahl as a high quality company with a clear strategy and a true sustainability leader in its field."

About the Stahl Board 
The Stahl Board of Directors consists of Stahl’s CEO and CFO and seven Non-Executive Directors, including representatives from Stahl’s main shareholders Wendel and BASF, two independent members, and a former executive member. The Stahl Board is responsible for the general affairs and strategy of Stahl, and the formation and implementation of the corporate governance organisation of the Stahl Group, including its management and reporting structure under the articles of associations of the relevant group companies.  

Click here to see Stahl's Board of Directors.